Over the summer, the ISME Early Career Scientist Committee (ISME ECSC) has reviewed applications to the call for new members and interviewed the short-listed candidates. We are thrilled to introduce our new committee members Dr. Ahmed Shibl (new co-chair; researcher at the Public Health Research Center, New York University, Abu Dhabi); Dr. Ashley Dungan (research fellow at the University of Melbourne, Australia); Dr. Emil Ruff (assistant scientist at the Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, USA); Dr. Adoukè Nadège Agbodjato (postdoctoral researcher at North West University (NWU), South Africa); and Dr. Anna Dragos (assistant professor at the University of Ljubljana, Slovenia). The role of the chair has been passed on from Dr. Jillian Petersen (University of Vienna, Austria) to Dr. Laetitia Wilkins (Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, Germany).

Freshly strengthened by the new members, the committee is currently organizing their session for the upcoming meeting isme-18 in Lausanne, Switzerland entitled “Trailblazing in science: the challenges and rewards of forging a new path in science”. There is also going to be a lunch networking event.

Dr. Lutgarde Raskin was interviewed by Dr. Sarah Preheim from the ISME ECSC for ISME conversations, and there are new ISME highlights written by Thato Motlhalamme from the South African Grape and Wine Research Institute, Stellenbosch University, South Africa and by Ben Jesuorsemwen Enagbonma from the University of Benin, Nigeria.

The ISME ECSC would like to raise awareness about preprinting options. Our ECR colleagues in America, spearheaded by Dr. Cassandra Ettinger, have been putting together a guide to Preprinting for Early Career Researchers.